“Raising Global Level of Ambition Through Local Climate Action”
COP16 Cancun Image Map
 

 

 
 
 

LG Climate Roadmap in action at COP16

At COP16 in Cancun, local governments achieved:

  • Introducing the Mexico City Pact and carbonn Cities Climate Registry as the global response of local governments to measurable, reportable, verifiable (MRV) climate action
  • Recognition of Local Governments (LGs): for the first time, States in Cancun recognize LGs as key governmental stakeholders in global climate change efforts
  • Numerous references to local governments in the COP16 Decision on “Outcome of the work of the Ad Hoc Working Group on long-term Cooperative Action under the Convention (LCA)” (the LCA text)
  • Inclusion of possible city wide programmes in Clean Development Mechanisms (CDM) for simplification of Programme of Activites within the scope of further guidance to CDM

Looking for more information?

 

LG at COP16: Daily Report

During the entire United Nations Climate Change Conference in Cancun (COP16), the Local Government Climate Roadmap delegation provided a daily report at the end of each journey.

  • Week 2

Day #13 - Saturday, 11 December 2010

Day #12 - Friday, 10 December 2010

Day #11 - Thursday, 9 December 2010

Day #10 - Wednesday, 8 December 2010

Day #9 - Tuesday, 7 December 2010

Day #8 - Monday, 6 December 2010

  • Week 1

Day #6 - Saturday, 4 December 2010

Day #5 - Friday, 3 December 2010

Day #4 - Thursday, 2 December 2010

Day #3 - Wednesday, 1 December 2010

Day #2 - Tuesday, 30 November 2010

Day #1 - Monday, 29 November 2010

  • Getting ready for COP16

 Sunday, 28 November 2010

 

For the latest news and international media releases on local governments' advocacy at COP16 click here